BMC Election 2017 results: Will Shiv Sena retain the richest civic body?

Remigio Civitarese
Febbraio 23, 2017

This was the highest voter turnout in past 25 years.

Waqarunnisa Ansari has won the BMC election from Umerkhadi.

However, the Congress Party has suffered a major setback as the grand old party was only able to win 31 seats.

He also compared the last times' result and thanked the people of Maharashtra for showing faith in BJP.

Shiv Sena sitting corporator Yashodhar Phanse has lost from ward no 60 in Lokhandwala Complex, Andheri West. The MNS is leading in 10 seats, a State Election Commission official said. Prominent Mumbai residents, politicians and celebrities turned out to vote with their families.

The big poll focus is on the BMC, retaining control of which is vital for the Sena as the city has remained its prime political space ever since the party's formation in 1966.

Meanwhile, the ruling Shiv Sena has bettered its 2012 performance of 75 seats by leading in 85 wards of Mumbai.

Trends till late noon showed the Congress and the NCP trailing far behind them. The AIMIM opened its account in Thane by winning three seats.

It increased it tally remarkably to 81 and won seats nearly equal to the Shiv Sena, which bagged 84.

BMC: BJP-61, Shiv Sena-93, Congress-22, NCP-7, MNS-10, Others-7. MNS leads in 02 wards. The process began with counting of postal votes.

The saffron partners did not form an alliance for the BMC elections and blamed each other for failing to come at a consensus. The Mumbai civic body BMC recorded about 55 per cent turn-out. Apart from ten civic bodies, 11 zilla parishads and 118 panchayat samitis will also hold their second phase of elections today, PTI reported.

Millions of voters had exercised their franchise on Tuesday in Maharashtra. In absolute terms, 5,097,565 voters took part in the polling out of the total electoral college of 9,180,491 registered voters. That's almost two of every three registered voters.

Even as Shiv Sena has turned out as the single largest party in the BMC, BJP is clear victor as the party has grown exponentially by nearly 150% and has bagged 80 seats up from the current 31 seats. BJP is just after at number two position with a lead in 13 seats.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE