Canada, US And Mexico Launch Bid To Co-Host 2026 World Cup

Paola Ditto
Aprile 21, 2017

The United States, Mexico and Canada have announced plans to launch a joint bid to co-host the 2026 World Cup.

Giving details of the bid for the first time, Gulati said the initial plan was for 60 of the 80 games to be played in the USA, with Canada and Mexico hosting 10 each.

Another U.S. president will be in the White House in 2026, but Infantino felt compelled to reiterate the requirements for any country looking to host FIFA's showcase event, which will be expanded from 32 to 48 teams after the 2022 tournament in Qatar.

Federation Internationale de Football Association rules now rule out bidders from Europe and Asia, because Russia is staging the World Cup in 2018 and Qatar will host the showpiece event in 2022.

Sunil Gulati President of United States Soccer Federation attends a press conference on April 10 at the One World Trade Center in NY.

Mexico, USA and Canada have officially announced their bid to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

The U.S., Canada and Mexico have settled on an unprecedented answer to that question: just combine forces. Other countries have this year and part of next year to submit their bids.

The 2026 tournament, if awarded to the three countries, would produce the biggest financial boon ever for Federation Internationale de Football Association, said Gulati. "This will be an extraordinarily successful World Cup on financial and economic grounds, and that's critical because most of FIFA's revenues come from one event".

The last time the Games were held in North America was in 1994 when the United States hosted for the first time. This is the first time three countries aim to host World Cup.

Trump was elected previous year after a campaign marked by rhetoric against Mexico, vowing to build a wall along the country's southern border to keep out illegal immigrants. "We have a strong encouragement from President Trump". "And that was in the last couple of days that we were given further encouragement on that".

The World Cup was last held in the region at US 94, while Mexico hosted in 1970 and 1986. But with the final set to take place in the US, Mexico City's Azteca Stadium will not be able to stage its third World Cup final, after hosting the 1970 and 1986 showpiece games.

The next location for the showcase soccer tournament will be Russian Federation in 2018, followed by Qatar in 2022.

"We have full support of the United States government in this project".

"There has never been a World Cup where the host countries have not been qualified", Gulati said. Gulati indicated that officials expected all three host nations to be granted places.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE