Prez poll: Meira seeks support of Cong lawmakers from Himachal

Modesto Morganelli
Luglio 17, 2017

Talking to mediapersons, Jharsuguda MLA Naba Kishore Das said, "As per the instructions of Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi, all the MLAs and leaders have been directed to have a single opinion and choose Congress candidate Meira Kumar in the Presidential election".

The interactive session, the sources say, will see Meira Kumar, the Opposition's presidential nominee, and Gandhi, its vice-presidential candidate, make their presentations before them.

"Earlier also, the members had exercised their conscience during the presidential contest between Neelam Sanjiva Reddy and V V Giri", she told the Congress lawmakers.

The party has seven members in the Telangana Assembly and two in the Maharashtra Assembly. As many as 17 non-NDA parties, including Congress, the Left parties, TMC, BSP, SP, DMK, NCP, RJD, JMM JD-S and NC, are supporting Meira Kumar.

Hyderabad: The State government has chose to appeal against the acquittal orders issued in MIM floor leader Akbaruddin Owaisi's case.

The Leader of Opposition Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil and NCP group leader in the assembly Jayant Patil rubbished claims made by a section of NDA that some Congress and NCP members would vote for its candidate Ram Nath Kovind. This also reflects the failure on the part of the Congress leadership in reaching out to the MIM. Out of this, the BJP-led NDA has 248 votes that comprises 199 MLAs and 49 MPs. "All will vote for Meira Kumar", said a senior MIM leader speaking to Express here on Saturday evening. TRS president and Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao is keen on ensuring Kovind's resounding victory from Telangana.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE