Indian ODI squad to face Sri Lanka announced

Cornelia Mascio
Agosto 13, 2017

RohitSharma, who was rested for the West Indies series, returns and will be the vice-captain of the side. On the other hand, veteran batter Yuvraj Singh has been axed from the team. The national selectors also rested RavichandranAshwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav. However, he led India A to victory in a tri-series which involved hosts South Africa A and Afghanistan A. Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant, who were also part of the squad in that tour, have been left out as well. The fifth ODI will be played on Sept 3 in Colombo.

Rahul's inclusion means there will be four regular openers in the squad and it is likely that the Karnataka batsman will be playing in the middle order.

After the ODI series, both sides will lock horns for a lone T20I at the R Premadasa Stadium on 6 September.

India's set to play five ODIs and a T20I against Sri Lanka, starting from August 20 in Dambulla. Ever since his 32-ball 53 against Pakistan in the Champions Trophy, Yuvraj has gone six innings without a half-century, and managed only 57 runs in his three most recent innings in the West Indies following which he was dropped from the XIs for the last two ODIs. From that India A squad, the legspinner Chahal has also won a recall. The final of Champions Trophy exposed India's slow bowling frailties.

Manish Pandey, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel and KL Rahul have come back into the squad.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE