Federation Internationale de Football Association nominate Nigerian for Best Coach Award

Paola Ditto
Agosto 18, 2017

Ronaldo was named the 2016 FIFA footballer of the year.

However, only two Africans Super Falcons coach Florence Omagbemi (Best FIFA Women's Coach category) and Borussia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Best FIFA Men's Player category) are on the list of the nominees.

A list of 12 candidates for the award has been drawn up by a panel of Federation Internationale de Football Association legends, including Cafu, Diego Maradona, Carles Puyol and Jay-Jay Okocha, among others.

National team captains, national team head coaches and members of the global media each make up 25 per cent of the vote for the award, with a public fan ballot making up the remaining quarter. The list also includes four coaches from the English top flight league.

He then skilfully guided his injury impeded side to the Europa League final against Ajax in Stockholm and masterminded a commanding 2-0 win over the Dutch side, handing Man United their first European trophy since 2008 and a place in the Champions League group stages.

Ronaldo enjoyed another remarkable season in which he inspired Real to a La Liga and Champions League double while Messi topped him in the Spanish goalscoring charts.

Carli Lloyd, the U.S. World Cup victor and two-time Olympic champion, was the inaugural victor and again makes the list of 10 in contention to be "Best FIFA" woman player.

Ex-Falcons captain Omagbemi led Nigeria to an eighth AWCON title in Cameroon a year ago and is one of the 10 names on the list for The Best FIFA Women's Coach.

Meanwhile FIFA has already already released a 12 man shortlist for the FIFA Men's Coach of the Year award. The victor will be announced on October 23 in a ceremony in London.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE