Darian Grubb named Kasey Kahne's crew chief for remainder of playoffs

Paola Ditto
Settembre 19, 2017

Hendrick Motorsports has announced that Darian Grubb will serve as Kasey Kahne's crew chief for the remainder of the season. "There's no one more prepared to hit the ground running at this point in the year".

Grubb, a Floyd, Va., native, is a 23-time victor as a Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series crew chief, winning with drivers Jimmie Johnson, Casey Mears, Tony Stewart, Denny Hamlin and Carl Edwards. In 2007, he moved on to serving as the crew chief for Casey Mears, but left HMS in 2009. He was promoted last month to director of competition systems at Hendrick Motorsports, the organization he initially joined in 2003.

Grubb last served as Edwards' crew chief in 2015.

Kahne opened the postseason with a 21st-place finish Sunday, his 16th result outside the top 10 in the past 17 races.

"I'm looking forward to working with the team for the rest of the season", Grubb said in a press release. Together the duo won 11 races, and the 2011 championship in just three seasons. "I enjoy competing in a playoffs environment, and we have tremendous resources at Hendrick Motorsports to pull from".

Kahne, who is not returning to Hendrick next season, now ranks 15th out of 16 drivers eligible for the playoffs, which began Sunday at Chicagoland Speedway.

Grubb was the crew chief for Tony Stewart at Stewart-Haas Racing in 2011 when he won five races in the playoffs on the way to winning his third Cup title. From 2012-15, Grubb worked for Joe Gibbs Racing, earning nine wins with Denny Hamlin and Carl Edwards. Though Rodden will remain under contract, the team says he will have other responsibilities. "I'm ready to get started this weekend".

In its announcement, Hendrick Motorsport said the crew chief for the No. 5 team in 2018 with driver William Byron has not been determined.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE