India agree three Tests in South Africa

Paola Ditto
Settembre 20, 2017

India will play only three Tests in South Africa.

After months of confusion, the BCCI and CSA on Wednesday announced that India's upcoming tour of South Africa will consist of three Test matches, six One-Day Internationals and three T20 International matches.

Cricket South Africa, in a press release, said that the dates and venues for all the remaining fixtures will be confirmed shortly.

The compromise over the India itinerary left a gap for what has become a traditional Boxing Day Test in South Africa.

That means there will be six 50-over matches, while the two sides will also meet in three Twenty20 internationals.

"We have now finalised the fixtures for a very busy home summer of global cricket", commented CSA Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.

"The Test status of the match is subject to ICC approval‚" the release quoted CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat as saying.

That gap will be filled by Zimbabwe, who have not played a Test in South Africa since 2004/05.

In the other notable development, South Africa will also host its first day-night Test when they play Zimbabwe at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth from December 26 to 30.

"The Mahatma Gandhi-Nelson Mandela Test series starts at Newlands on Friday, January 5 and will be a series to be watched as the number 1 and 2 best ranked teams in the world challenge for the Freedom Trophy".

But India have a home series against Sri Lanka, ending on December 24, and want to spend time in South Africa, including playing a warm-up match before the start of the Test series.

The original plan was for four Tests, three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 internationals.

Sri Lanka were due to tour India from February end to the first week of April next year, but Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) requested the Indian Board to advance the series as they are suppose to host the tri-nation Independence Cup during that period.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE