SC collegium recommends 19 names for judges of Karnataka, Calcutta, Madras HC

Remigio Civitarese
Dicembre 7, 2017

The Supreme Court collegium led by Chief Justice Dipak Misra has cleared names of 19 candidates for elevation as judges to various high courts and recommended names of 23 additional judges of different HCs for being made permanent.

"The Collegium resolves to recommend that Dixit Krishna Shripad, Shankar Ganapathi Pandit, Ramakrishna Devdas, Bhotanhosur Mallikarjuna Shyam Prasad and Siddappa Sunil Dutt Yadav, advocates, be appointed as Judges of the Karnataka HC".

The collegium also took into consideration opinions from other Supreme Court judges, aware of the Karnataka high court's affairs, to recommend the names to the government for appointment as judges.

The meeting, held on December 4, gave its nod for the elevation of five lawyers as judges in Karnataka High Court on the recommendation of its chief justice earlier this year. While doing so, the three seniormost judges of the apex court have rejected two names recommended for elevation by the High Court.

Should the elevation of these nine names go through, the Madras High Court will have a total of 69 judges, just 6 shy of its sanctioned strength of 75. At present, justice J Chelameswar and justice Ranjan Gogoi are members of the collegium.

The collegium also took into account the disagreement between the Karnataka chief minister and certain bodies of advocates over non-representation of cross-sections of the society on the bench of the high court. Once approved by the Union government, the warrant for their appointment as additional judges will be issued from the President's office.

However, it said, "Assessment of performance of the persons recommended is done objectively by the judiciary at the high court and Supreme Court level; and as far as integrity, character and conduct etc are concerned, Intelligence Bureau, on verification, has reported that the recommendees enjoy a good personal and professional image and nothing adverse has come to the notice against their integrity". One of the appointees, Sakya Sen, has been cleared even though he does not meet the age criterion of 45.

Among those who were made permanent judges include Justices Sandeep Sharma and Chander Sharma for Himachal Pradesh High Court, Justice Narendar G for Karnataka High Court, Justices Ananda Sen and Anant Bijay Singh for Jharkhand High Court and Justices Sanjay Agrawal and Rajendra Chandra Singh Samant for Chhattisgarh High Court. The Collegium, on the same day, recommended advocate Arindam Lodh for appointment as judge in the Tripura High Court.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE