India beat rivals Pakistan at Blind Cricket World Cup

Brunilde Fioravanti
Gennaio 13, 2018

For the second time in two matches, India won the toss and elected to put their opponents in to bat.

But the player to watch in this group could be 16-year-old off-spinner Mujeeb Zadran, who not only grabbed five for 13 against Pakistan in that final, but also made a sensational entry into senior worldwide cricket grabbing four for 24 against Ireland in Sharjah for a player of the match debut.

In reply, India comfortably chased down the target in 34.5 overs. Mohammed Jail scored 94 runs off 91 balls as Pakistan scored a competitive total of 282/8 in 40 Overs.

Deepak Malik scored unbeaten 79 runs and Venkatesh scored 64 runs. India's batting mainstay in Tests, Cheteshwar Pujara, scored the most runs-309-in the 2006 edition in Sri Lanka.

ICC CEO David Richardson was the chief guest for the Man of the Match Ceremony. The team's opening game against Australia was called off due to heavy rain. Pakistan went into the match without five of their players not available for selection as they could not get their visas in time to travel to UAE for the match. Apart from India, who won in 2000, 2008 and 2012, Australia have won the tournament thrice. However, only teams from Bangladesh and Nepal have agreed to play in Pakistan for now, while matches with other countries are scheduled to be held in UAE.

The U-19 event is no longer "just another junior tournament", as it grabs serious number of eyeballs.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE