Vijay Hazare Trophy: Andhra Outplays Delhi By Six Wickets In Quarter-Finals

Modesto Morganelli
Febbraio 23, 2018

With this result, Maharashtra will face Karnataka on Feb. 24 and Andhra will take on Saurashtra Feb. 25 in the semi-finals. The match could have been a lopsided affair after Saurashtra had left Baroda tottering at 105 for 7 in 22.3 overs before Mumbai Indians star Krunal Pandya (61, 75 balls) and Soaeb Tai (72 no, 91 balls) added 97 runs for the eighth wicket to give the team total some semblance of respectability. Chasing a target of 248, Saurashtra crossed the finishing line in 48.4 overs, courtesy Vasavada and useful contributions from Avi Barot (82) and Cheteshwar Pujara (40). While chasing, Saurashtra lost opener Samarth Vyas and former India player Robin Uthappa within 45 runs but Barot and Pujara added 102 runs for the third wicket to set the pace.

A disciplined all-round effort helped Andhra outplay Delhi by six wickets in the fourth quarter-final match of the Vijay Hazare trophy at the Palam A Stadium here February 22.

Earlier, Baroda's top four threw away good starts to surrender an early momentum; the middle-order continued the slide, as Baroda slipped from 82/1 to 105/7 with Jani bagging 4/35 and Mankad bowling ten cheap overs for 2/29. Medium pacer Siva Kumar (4-29) and left-arm spinner Bharghav Bhatt (3-28) wreaked havoc as Delhi were skittled out for 111 in 32.1 overs.

In reply, Andhra started off on a boring note losing two wickets in four overs but opener Ashwin Hebbar (38) along with middle-order batsmen Ricky Bhui (36) and Bodapati Sumanth (25) played sensibly and made sure their team overhauled the target to advance.

Put in to bat, the Andhra bowlers, especially Duvvarapu Siva Kumar (4/29) overpowered the Delhi batsmen and did not allowed them any latitude at the crease. Saurashtra 251/7 in 48.4 overs (Avi Barot 82, Cheteshwar Pujara 40, Arpit Vasavada 45).Saurashtra won by 3 wickets.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE