Slovakia's Henrieta Farkasova wins first gold of Winter Paralympics

Paola Ditto
Marzo 13, 2018

Despite the historic announcement Thursday that President Donald Trump and North Korean leader Kim Jong Un plan to meet and discuss nuclear weapons, not everything is always rosy in North Korea's new détente with the outside world. The disagreement comes over the exclusion of South Korean-controlled and Japanese-contested disputed islands, known as Dokdo in Korean and Takeshima in Japanese.

ParalympicsGB has sent a 17-strong team of athletes, though only snowboarders Pick, Ben Moore and James Barnes-Miller, and 2014 gold-medal-winning visually impaired skier Kelly Gallagher and her guide Gary Smith attended the ceremony.

Sin clocked in 42 minutes and 28-point-nine seconds in the men's 15-kilometer sitting cross-country skiing event on Sunday at Alpensia Biathlon Center.

Last month, the world witnessed a positive sign of peace between North Korea and South Korea when their Olympic teams paraded together under the Korean unification flag at the opening ceremony in PyeongChang. The USA has the biggest team at the Winter Paralympics with 69 athletes.

Andrew Parsons, president of the IPC, said in a statement that North Korea's presence was a pivotal moment for the Paralympic movement and that he hoped that "the focus can now be on the performances of Para athletes on the field of play, not the politics off it".

A record 48 countries are taking part in the Games.

But the disagreement is considered a minor sticking point after what has been a swift thaw between the neighbours, starting with North Korea's decision in January to participate in the Olympics. Thirty athletes, who have met strict conditions, were approved by the International Paralympic Committee to compete as Neutral Paralympic Athletes in Pyeongchang. Cnossen is a former Navy Seal who lost both legs in an explosion in Afghanistan.

The Paralympics will run from March 9 to March 18.

Three athletes have competed at every Winter Games since 2006: alpine skiers Laurie Stephens and Tyler Walker, and sled hockey goalie Steve Cash. Schultz will the lead the 74-member delegation in Friday's opening ceremony, which will be shown on NBC Sports Network at 6 a.m.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE