Counting of Votes Begins

Remigio Civitarese
Marzo 14, 2018

After eighth round of counting, BJP is leading in Bhabua with 19,738 votes and RJD is leading in Jehanabad after tenth round of counting with 29,551 votes.

In Bhabua, BJP's Rinki Pandey is leading over Congress' Sambhu Patel, while Janta Dal-United's Abhiram Sharma is leading from Jahanabad assembly seat over Rashtriya Janata Dal's Suday Yadav. The results are expected to be declared by Thursday afternoon, according to an Election Commission official.

Lucknow/Patna: Voting began today morning for the by-elections in Gorakhpur and Phulpur - the two parliamentary seats in Uttar Pradesh while people have also lined up to cast their votes in Araria Lok Sabha constituency.

The Bharatiya Janata Party seems to be facing an unexpected setback in Uttar Pradesh with both Lok Sabha seats seeing leads for the opposition.

Meanwhile, polling for Araria Lok Sabha seat was peaceful amid reports of polarisation following the lodging of an FIR against the Bihar BJP president Nityanand Rai for his unsavoury remarks against the RJD nominee Sarfaraz Alam.

The announcement by the Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) to support Samajwadi Party's candidate has made these bypolls very interesting as the results of these polls will decide on future alliance of the arch-rivals.

SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel is leading by about 10,000 votes in Phulpur after seven rounds of counting, officials said.

Attacking the BSP and the SP, the chief minister claimed, "These parties are indulging in negative politics, politics of bargaining and politics of opportunism".

The BJP, which has an overwhelming majority in the state Assembly, has nothing to lose in terms of number, but the polls can be a precursor to the general elections next year.

The voter turnout was 47.45 per cent in Gorakhpur and 37.39 per cent in Phulpur in Sunday's polling.

However, as of now, only the initial rounds of counting has been completed, and these are heavily influenced by postal votes. BJP got 82811 votes. This is the first time in Gorakhpur when the Samajwadi party is leading. SP candidate is ahead with 12,231 votes.

The Congress is fighting on its own and has named Surahita Kareem as its candidate.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE