JNU, Hyderabad, Jadavpur varsities get autonomy

Modesto Morganelli
Marzo 21, 2018

Shri Javadekar explained that these universities will remain within the ambit of UGC but will have the freedom to start new courses, off campus centers, skill development courses, research parks and any other new academic programs.

Bhubaneswar: The University Grants Commission (UGC) has granted autonomy to two state universities and two deemed to be universities of the state which have maintained high academic standards.

Another 27 universities have been allowed limited autonomy, which will permit them to start new departments, pay higher salaries to attract the best talent and increase seats by 20 per cent to admit foreign students. "They will also have the freedom to hire foreign faculty members, enroll foreign students, give incentive-based emoluments to faculty members, enter into academic collaborations and run open-distance learning programmes", he said. They will also be exempt from regular UGC inspections, obtaining appraisals on the basis of self-reporting.

Among all the state universities that are given autonomy are Jadavpur University, Andhra University, Algappa University, National University of Law, Utkal University, Kurukshetra University, to name a few.

Union human resource development minister Prakash Javadekar hailed the development as "historic" and said it will enable the selected institutes to decide their admission procedure, fee structure and curriculum, among others.

JNU has the highest NAAC score of 3.77 among Central universities and University of Hyderabad is next with 3.72. These still need to take UGC permissions for some activities, such as signing contracts with foreign universities.

Among private universities, OP Jindal Global University, Sonepat, and Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Petroleum University, Gandhinagar, are the only ones to make it to category-II.

They include Homi Bhabha National Institute in Mumbai, Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha in Tirupati, Tata Institute of Social Sciences in Mumbai, Symbiosis International in Pune, Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology and Research Academy in Thanjavur and Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences in Wardha.

Eleven deemed universities have also been awarded full autonomy.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE