The Upcoming Gmail Update Includes Timebombed Messages

Rodiano Bonacci
Aprile 16, 2018

Google is set to overhaul the design of Gmail in next couple of weeks and now details of a few new features, including self destructing emails, have leaked online.

Google has announced a year ago that they are finally upgrading the files attachment feature for their email service which allows the users to send and receive messages with attachments up to 50MB size. Some of the features headed for Gmail for the web/desktop version, such as smart replies, have been available for a while on the mobile apps for iOS and Android.

"The features are very similar to some found in Microsoft's full Outlook application and Microsoft is also adding the ability to restrict emails on its Outlook.com service", the report added.

The other feature Google looks set to bring over of Inbox is the snooze option, which can temporarily hide an email from your Inbox until the time you are ready to deal with it.

The yet-to-be introduced feature works quite much like expiring emails in "ProtonMail" in which the email becomes unreadable after some time.

"We're working on some major updates to Gmail (they're still in draft phase)".

Unfortunately, for all the precautions included in Gmail's new Confidential Mode, it is impossible to prevent users from taking a screenshot of the contents of an email.

"We need a bit more time to compose ourselves, so can't share anything yet-archive this for now, and we'll let you know when it's time to hit send".

The new Gmail is set to release in a few weeks, but there has been no exact word on when confidential mode will roll out. Among the updates that will be coming, you'll be able to mark messages as confidential which will give you lots of power over how email is handled.

Following the blockbuster update, Gmail users will also be able to require recipients enter a passcode (generated via SMS) to open their emails.

Of course, compatibility may be an issue here - particularly as receivers are asked to confirm their Google accounts in order to open confidential mode emails.

So far, the only potential answer is a link with the message, "This message was sent with Gmail's confidential mode" the sent email reads. "You can open it by clicking this link".

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE