Dutch Champions! PSV seal league title with win over Ajax

Paola Ditto
Aprile 17, 2018

It was their third championship in four seasons.

Phillip Cocu's team won through goals by Gaston Pereiro, Luuk de Jong, and Steven Bergwijn to seal their third Eredivisie title in four years.

Manchester City rebounded from their Champions League exit by beating Spurs 3-1 and were crowned Premier League champions after rivals United lost 1-0 to West Bromwich Albion.

Pereiro bundled in the opener midway through the half before Luuk De Jong headed in Joshua Brenet's cross to kick-start the celebrations at Philips Stadion.

The title was made safe nine minutes into the second period as Bergwijn showed neat control to bring down a high ball and fired low into the corner of the net.

Nicolas Tagliafico earned a second yellow and Siem De Jong received a straight red for a crude studs-up challenge, meaning the Amsterdam outfit had two players dismissed in a single Eredivisie match for the first time in their history.

And the visitors were then left to contemplate a fourth season in a row without league success.

Phillip Cocu's side have an unassailable lead over second-placed Ajax with three games remaining.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE