Nassar Sexual Assault Survivors to Receive Arthur Ashe Award At ESPYs

Cornelia Mascio
Mag 17, 2018

Now, the more than 150 sexual abuse survivors who read impact statements to help convict the former USA Gymnastics and Michigan State team doctor are being honored on the ESPYs stage as collaborative winners of the 2018 Arthur Ashe Courage Award. Numerous top administrators have resigned at both Michigan State and USA Gymnastics, and both institutions have pledged to be extra diligent in the future in preventing abuses like Nassar's.

Those he sexually assaulted include some of the world's most high-profile gymnasts.

Numerous athletes - collectively known as the "sister survivors" - spoke at Nassar's sentencing hearings earlier this year, where the disgraced doctor was eventually given 40 to 175 years in prison on multiple counts of sexual assault.

In January, Nassar was sentenced to 40-175 years in prison for his crimes.

Almost 200 girls and women accused Nassar of assaulting them and gave victim impact statements during Nassar's three sentencing hearings.

Here is what Alison Overholt, the Vice President and Editor in Chief of ESPN The Magazine, espnW, and The ESPYS, had to say about the matter, according to Sports Illustrated.

"We are honored to recognize the courage of these women at The 2018 ESPYS, to acknowledge the power of their voices, and to shine a very well-deserved spotlight on what speaking up, fighting back, and demanding accountability can accomplish". It's unclear who will accept the honor and speak at the awards ceremony.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE