Tennis star goes on racket-smashing rampage to umpire's chair

Remigio Civitarese
Mag 17, 2018

Karolina Pliskova vented her frustration on the umpire's chair with her racket after her loss to Maria Sakkari Wednesday in Rome.

World number six Pliskova had a number of run-ins with Mrozinska during the stormy match and now faces a heavy fine from the WTA.

In the third set with the sixth seeded Czech serving 6-3, 3-6, 5-5 (30/30) she had an overhead shot incorrectly ruled out and both the line judge and the umpire said they could not find the mark.

The Czech athlete has racked up more than $11 million in prize money despite never winning a grand slam title to date, but has managed to take home 10 Women's Tennis Association tournament trophies in her career to solidify herself as a top name in the profession.

After Pliskova embraced Sakkari at the net, she went to shake the chair umpire's hand before pulling it back and smashing her racket several times into the umpire's chair, clearly surprising Sakkari and leaving a massive crater in the chair. She argued with the umpire on several occasions during the match about points that went out of her favor and calls that were obviously wrong when shown on replay.

Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna, who is also a professional player, threw her support behind her sibling by calling out the horrendous umpire decision.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE