Serena Williams into 10th Wimbledon final

Paola Ditto
Luglio 12, 2018

"I'm really happy and proud to be in a Grand Slam final". Kerber, who lost to Williams in Wimbledon's 2016 final, will have a shot at redemption in what's already been a solid season.

Though she composed herself at the start of the second, a drop-shot agonisingly clipped the net before dropping back onto her own side as Williams clinched the break.

Last year, Williams took a break from competitive sport, announcing her pregnancy shortly after claiming her 23rd Grand Slam at the 2017 Australian Open.

Serena Williams remains on course for her eighth Wimbledon singles title after setting up a final against Germany's Angelique Kerber.

The 36-year-old Williams reached her 10th final at the All England Club in just her 13th match since giving birth to daughter Olympia last year.

Incredibly, with Williams serving for the match, Goerges broke back but it was a mere stay of execution as the mother-of-one broke again to advance to a 10th final. With the match at 2-2, Williams kicked off a streak of five consecutive games won.

The left-handed Kerber was mainly a passive participant in the early going against Ostapenko.

Eventually, Kerber's style ruled the day. She went on a half-hour run in which she took the last four games of the first set and took a 3-0 lead in the second.

But this is uncharted territory for Goerges, who was in her first Grand Slam semi-final after losing in the first round on her five previous visits to Wimbledon. By the time she flubbed a backhand while falling behind 5-1 in the second, she dropped her racket and screamed.

Despite making 18 first-set winners compared to only six from Kerber, the 21-year-old also made 19 unforced errors, with Kerber only making two.

Having dropped a set for the first time in the tournament, former junior Wimbledon victor Ostapenko was broken again in the second game of the second set as Kerber stepped up the pressure.

Kerber looked anxious and Ostapenko had a point to close to within a game but she dumped a backhand return into net and then coughed up two more errors to hand Kerber victory.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE