Pak Court Stays Recount In Lahore Seat Narrowly Won By Imran Khan

Remigio Civitarese
Agosto 10, 2018

Chief Imran Khan is likely to become next prime minister of Pakistan after his party secured majority of the seats in the assembly and also enjoys support of independent MNAs and other coalition parties.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique had petitioned for a recount in the NA-131 Lahore-9 constituency, from where Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan won by 680 votes.

The PTI had taken the decisive lead by winning 116 seats against former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and former President Asif Zardari s Pakistan Peoples' Party (PPP) which won 64 and 43 seats, respectively.

Mr Rafique's lawyer contended that a recount request is valid if the victory margin is less than five per cent.

Though the election Commission's statement did not explain the nature of the violation that led to some results being withheld, it apparently referred to the violation of the secrecy of the vote due to the stamping of ballot papers in a constituency in Islamabad on the table of the presiding officer, instead of voters going behind a screen. But the Supreme Court suspended the Lahore High Court's order to re-tabulate results and accepted Khan's petition against the ruling.

The bench observed that the result of NA-131 has been compiled the constituency could not be deprived of representation in Parliament.

Rafique, after losing the recount, appealed the election commission to recount all votes cast in the constituency.

Soon after the top court's verdict, Khan's lawyer Babar Awan wrote to the Election Commission, requesting it to issue the notification of Khan's victory in two constituencies in Lahore and Islamabad, Dawn reported.

"The Election Act 2017 has been completely disregarded".

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE