Croatia's Luka Modric wins FIFA's best player of the year award

Paola Ditto
Settembre 25, 2018

The pair are also among the 55 names in line for the FIFPro World 11 team, which will be named at the ceremony.

It's the first time since 2006 that Barcelona icon Lionel Messi has not been among the candidates for FIFA's top award after a disappointing 12 months by the Argentine's high standards.

Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric is the victor of the Fifa Best Player of 2018.

The Fifa Fan Award went to Peru's supporters who caused absolute scenes (in a good way) in Russian Federation this summer as the national team made their way to their first World Cup tournament in 36 years.

"We are nothing without our players and I want to thank my whole team who worked to get me here and get me this trophy tonight". "It's for all my Real Madrid teammates".

O'Neill selected Ronaldo in second with Liverpool's Mo Salah in third.

"It was an unbelievable season, the best season in my life", said Modric.

The Real Madrid midfielder, 33, beat former team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo, now with Juventus, and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah to the award.

Earlier in the evening, Salah had been awarded the FIFA Puskas award for his solo strike in the Merseyside derby against Everton, in which he weaved through the defence to curl the ball into the top corner.

"This trophy is also for my family, without whom I would not be the player and person that I am". Without my coaches, I would not have won this.

He also won the UEFA Men's Player of the Year award - beating Ronaldo and Salah in the process.

However, if he does win, the the Portugal star won't be there in person to collect the award as he will miss the ceremony at London's Royal Festival Hall due to commitments with club team Juventus.

A list of 15 nominees will be selected by France Football and a panel of worldwide journalists will vote on a victor.

German forward Lennart Thy won the fair play award after missing a game for Dutchside VVV-Venlo to help a leukemia patient.

In other awards, Thibaut Courtois from Belgium won goalkeeper of the year, Reynald Pedros best women's coach and Marta women's player of the year.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE