Man Booker Prize victor will use money to pay off debts

Brunilde Fioravanti
Ottobre 18, 2018

Mr Appiah said each of the finalists' novels was a "miracle of stylistic invention in which the language takes centre stage".

A novel about the 30-year-old revolution in Ireland, a period that is popularly referred to as the "Troubles", having thematic resonances with the ongoing #MeToo moment across the world, won the Man Booker Prize 2018. "The narrative would become heavy and lifeless and refuse to move on until I took them out again". "Sometimes the book threw them out itself".

Burns, 56, who was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, and now lives south of London, is the first Northern Irish writer to win the Booker in the prize's history.

Milkman was published in Britain in May by Faber & Faber, and the independent publisher Graywolf Press will release the novel in the United States.

Author Anna Burns was named the victor of the 2018 Man Booker Prize for her novel Milkman at a lavish awards ceremony in London on Tuesday night, becoming the first author from Northern Ireland to win the most prestigious English-language literary award. After Rooney failed to make it to the last five, bets were put on 27-year-old Daisy Johnson, the youngest contender for the honours, for her debut novel, Everything Under. The presumed frontrunners were US author Richard Powers, for his nature-themed epic The Overstory, and Canada's Esi Edugyan, whose latest novel Washington Black was greeted with universal praise stateside upon its September publication. Earlier this year, Sabrina emerged as the first graphic novel ever longlisted for the Booker, but ultimately didn't advance to the final round of voting.

The first Northern Irish victor of the award admitted that writing had not been a lucrative career.

British poet Robin Robertson was shortlisted for his novel in verse, The Long Take. The victor receives £50,000, or about $92,000, and typically sees a big boost in book sales. Previous winners include Salman Rushdie, Ian McEwan, Arundhati Roy and Hilary Mantel.

In 2014, authors from any English-speaking country became eligible for the prize for the first time.

This year, the Rathbones Folio Academy, a literary society with prominent members such as Margaret Atwood, J.M. Coetzee and Peter Carey, insisted that the change be reversed.

Canadian writer Esi Edugyan made the shortlist for the second time with Washington Black, which explores a friendship between an 11-year-old slave and an abolitionist inventor who together try to escape from Barbados on a quest for freedom.

"None of us has ever read anything like this before", Kwame Anthony Appiah, chair of the 2018 judges, said as he announced Burns' name. But Appiah said neither the nationality nor the gender of the authors was a factor in the judges' deliberations on the shortlist of four female authors and two men.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE