MPs Reject Labour Attempt To Block No-Deal Brexit

Cornelia Mascio
Giugno 14, 2019

The EU considers the Brexit deal, negotiated over 18 months, to be complete and not open to renegotiation.

The move comes after a number of politicians bidding to succeed Theresa May as prime minister said Britain would leave the European Union with or without a deal on October 31. "I would put Oliver Letwin right in the middle of that graveyard".

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn was overheard rebuking MPs, saying that they "won't be cheering in September" as they celebrated the defeat of the motion.

Some of the 10 contenders, including front-runner Boris Johnson, say if they become Prime Minister, they would take Britain out of the European Union on the twice-extended withdrawal date, now set for October 31, with or without an agreement.

"But this is just the start, not the end of our efforts to block no deal", he said. Labour stands ready to use whatever mechanism it can to protect jobs, the economy and communities from the disastrous consequences of a no deal Brexit.

The parliamentary Conservative Party will whittle 10 candidates down to a final two, with the ultimate leadership decision being made by party members nationwide.

Had the Labour-proposed motion been successful, the next leader could not take the country out of the EU without a renegotiated deal, and European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker has repeated that this is not an option, saying that the 585-page exit treaty that had already been agreed was "not a treaty between Theresa May and Juncker, it is a treaty between the United Kingdom and the EU".

Conservative opponents of no-deal and leadership candidates, Matt Hancock and Rory Stewart, revealed that they would vote against the motion.

Ahead of the vote Liberal Democrat leader Sir Vince Cable said he's nervous the incoming Prime Minister may resort to "drastic action" in order to avoid the "humiliation of the present Prime Minister" over their Brexit promises. Raab even suggested that he would suspend parliament to block MPs from thwarting a no-deal exit.

Boris Johnson has launched his bid for the Tory crown with a warning to MPs they will "reap the whirlwind" if they try to thwart Brexit.

North West Cambridgeshire MP, Conservative Shailesh Vara, voted against the motion, as did Brexit Secretary and North East Cambridgeshire Steve Barclay, South Holland and The Deepings MP John Hayes and Corby MP Tom Pursglove.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE