Australia accept 2020 Copa America invitation

Paola Ditto
Giugno 15, 2019

Argentina and Colombia will each host six teams during the group stage, with the groups divided based on geography.

The 2020 tournament will be held jointly in Colombia and Argentina and will feature the 10 South American nations as well as the two guests.

- When is the Copa America? The top four teams from each group advance to the quarter finals.

Although the tournament invitees are now known for next year's Copa America, the final venue is still a mystery.

Socceroos head coach Graham Arnold said taking part in the tournament will be a huge boost to his preparations for the 2022 World Cup.

"We crave these opportunities as players and coaches". Qatar and Japan are the guest nations in this year's Copa, which starts Friday in Brazil (catch all games in the US on ESPN+). The experience we will gain from playing in this tournament will be incredible and I know by speaking to our players, they are equally excited about being part of one of the world's most prestigious football tournaments.

"Our planning for the [2022] World Cup [in] Qatar has already started".

Australia will play World Cup qualifiers in June next year before heading to South America, in what looms as a massive month for the national team.

"Qatar is the last champions of the Asian confederation - having champions participating in competition always elevates the prestige and quality of football", said Paraguayan Dominguez.

Mexico, the United States, Costa Rica, Panama, Honduras, Jamaica, Haiti and Qatar have all accepted invitations in the past.

"We have made a decision to invite ... to participate in our competitions the current Asian confederation champions and the previous ones", said Alejandro Dominguez, the president of South American football's governing body.

So what happens if a guest nation wins?

Mexico has reached the final in 1993 and 2001 - losing on both occasions - with the US and Honduras also making the semi-finals in their guest appearances.

The Socceroos meanwhile have the opportunity to claim a third separate continental title to go alongside the 2015 Asian Cup and the four OFC Nations Cup titles won in 1980, 1996, 2000 and 2004.

The reigning champions are Chile, who won its second title 4-2 on penalties after a 0-0 draw with Argentina in 2016.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE