Rieko Ioane dropped for Sunday's second Test against Australia in Auckland

Paola Ditto
Октября 17, 2020

Alex Hodgman will make his debut for the All Blacks, Hoskins Sotutu is once again on the bench while Beauden Barrett returns for their second Bledisloe Cup match against the Wallabies.

Brandon Paenga-Amosa replaces Folau Fainga'a at hooker in the other change to the starting XV, while Queensland pair Liam Wright and Jordan Petaia have been selected on the reserves bench.

The All Blacks had mixed news on the injury front, with lock Whitelock (HIA) and winger George Bridge (pectoral) scrubbed from the starting lineup.

Barrett replaces Damian McKenzie while Rieko Ioane, another ball spilling villain from Wellington, is demoted to the bench with Anton Lienert-Brown taking his place at outside centre.

The All Blacks and Australia will be playing their 168th Test against each other.

The All Blacks forward pack seemed to need major renovation to make it more physically competitive.

The All Blacks' performance mirrored the World Cup semifinal in Yokohama a year ago when they were thoroughly outplayed by a harder and tougher England pack.

Head coach Ian Foster, who is under heavy pressure to deliver a better performance in Auckland, expects improvement.

"Our preparation this week has been really good", Foster said. "So there has been plenty for us to work on".

"It's the last Test at home for us so there will also be massive excitement amongst our fans".

Centre Rieko Ioane has been dropped from the starting line-up by New Zealand for Sunday's second Bledisloe Cup Test against Australia, live on Sky Sports.

All Blacks - 15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Jordie Barrett, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Jack Goodhue, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (c), 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Tupou Vaa'i, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu 3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody.

Australia: Tom Banks, Filipo Daugunu, Hunter Paisami, Matt To'omua, Marika Koroibete, James O'Connor, Nic White; Harry Wilson, Michael Hooper (captain), Ned Hanigan, Matt Philip, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Taniela Tupou, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, James Slipper.

Altre relazioni

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE