Google Maps can retrace your steps from any day using your photographs

Remigio Civitarese
Dicembre 21, 2020

Back in June, the app received a redesigned three-tab interface that made it easier to search for photos.

The feature is now being rolled out to Google Photos users on Android and iOS, 9to5Google reported. "You can use your photos' locations to organise, search, and explore your photos based on where they were taken", Google has said on its support page".

Memories is a feature added to Google photos in September 2019 - it's why when you turn your phone on some days you'll see a special photos labelled 1 year ago or perhaps 10 years ago that lets you relive a moment from the past. From there go to "Your Map".

Google Photos will be able to map-out images from your library onto a Google Maps-stye timeline if they allowed your smartphone to save relocation data when you pressed the shutter or manually added the location data in Google Photos after the fact. A new warning pop-up will explain that Maps timeline has been added to the map, along with the link explaining the new feature.

Once users zoom into the map, they would be able to see a thin blue line marking a route they took on a particular day, allowing users to relive any of their trips complete with the images, the location and the journey.

While for a great many people the blue spot showed on Google Maps shows where they are, this is really a considerably more significant component of the application. As per the report, Google Photos uses the camera Global Positioning System and Google location history to detect the landmarks to show the photo map timeline.

So, this function will help you revisit your reminiscence in a method by which you'll really feel as if in case you have been taken again to the very second whenever you clicked the image. You can check out a sample from Google right below.

But if all this is too much information, you can opt to hide your private timeline from "Your Map" view. It would show a window with several options.

In addition, you can disable the timeline integration with Google Photos by hitting the Location History button and going to your Google Account settings.

Google Photos is widely used for backing up photos.

This new feature comes as Google has been in the process of bringing new features to Google Photos.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE