Gov. Cuomo Adds 8 States to NY Self-Quarantine List

Remigio Civitarese
Luglio 1, 2020

Cuomo already had implemented a travel advisory that required people entering NY from states with an infection rate above 10 cases per 100,000 people on a seven-day rolling average to quarantine for 14 days.

The eight states that added to the coronavirus watch list are California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee. The states on the list can change on a daily basis.

Levels necessitating quarantine are based on a seven-day rolling average of either 10% statewide infection or a new-case rate of 10 per 100,000 residents. They join Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah.

Travelers from each of the 16 states who come to NY will be required to quarantine for 14 days over rising COVID-19 infections.

"As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, NY is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening", Cuomo said.

This morning's announcement means 16 states are now under the travel advisory.

Of the 52,025 tests conducted in New York State on Monday, 524, or 1 percent were positive.

The development comes as COVID-19 cases in NY - once the epicenter of the global pandemic, where more than 20,000 people have succumbed to the disease - trend downward while infection rates spike elsewhere.

According to the Hill, as far as enforcement of the order goes, Cuomo said that violators may be subject to fines, but that police would not be patrolling the state's borders. Maine, Hawaii, Alaska, New Mexico, and Vermont are among those that require most travelers arriving in the state to either isolate for 14 days upon arrival or produce documentation of a negative COVID-19 test result.

Altre relazioniGrafFiotech

Discuti questo articolo

Segui i nostri GIORNALE